As part of the changes to the NHS brought about by the Health and Social Care Act 2012, Primary Care Trusts (PCTs) and Strategic Health Authorities (SHAs) ceased to exist on 31 March 2013. Their responsibilities were taken over by Clinical Commissioning Groups and the NHS Trust Development Authority.

For more details please see: or click on the links below.

NHS England (formerly NHS Commissioning Board)

At the heart of the new health and care system making sure that NHS services deliver the best possible care for patients.

Public Heath England

Provides public health leadership and expertise, and works to improve the nation’s health and wellbeing, and to reduce health inequalities.

Department of Health

Sets objectives and budgets and holds the system to account on behalf of the Secretary of State.


Health Education England

Responsible for the education, training and development of the healthcare workforce.

Local Authority

Locally, all public health functions and campaigns are now run by Bradford Council. This includes sexual health, smoking and obesity.


NHS Choices

Provides information on conditions, treatments, local services and healthy living.

Local information

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)

Made up of local GPs, nurses and other professionals are responsible for commissioning services for local communities.

Bradford and Airedale CCGs:

Commissioning Support Units (CSUs)

Provide professional advice and support to CCGs and other customers.

Provided by: West and South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw CSU

The content of this site was captured by the National Archive in March 2013 and is available here: